Fleetwood Mac Rumours album cover

Fleetwood Mac enters LOC’s National Recording Registry

Fleetwood Mac has earned a spot in the Library of CongressNational Recording Registry with its iconic, Grammy-Award-winning 1977 album Rumours. Each year, the Registry honors 25 culturally, historically or aesthetically significant recordings.

Rumours — the band’s infamous breakup album — includes some of pop music’s most recognizable tunes of all time, including “Dreams,” “Go Your Own Way,” and “You Make Loving Fun.” The album continues to sell well after all these years, with upwards of 40 million in total sales.

Here’s the full list of the 2017 inductees.

  1. Alice’s Restaurant—Arlo Guthrie (1967) (single)
  2. New Sounds in Electronic Music—Steve Reich, Richard Maxfield, Pauline Oliveros (1967)
  3. Calypso—Harry Belafonte (1956) (album) (RCA)
  4. Complete Beethoven Piano Sonatas—Artur Schnabel (1932-1935)
  5. Dream Melody Intermezzo: Naughty Marietta–Victor Herbert and His Orchestra (1913)
  6. Standing Rock Preservation Recordings—George Herzog and Yanktoni Indians (1928)
  7. Evening with Groucho, An—Groucho Marx (1972)
  8. Folk Songs of the Hills—Merle Travis (1946)
  9. Footloose—Kenny Loggins (1984) (single)
  10. Raising Hell—Run-DMC (1986)
  11. Gambler, The—Kenny Rogers (1978) (single)
  12. How I Got Over—Clara Ward and the Ward Singers (1950) (single)
  13. I Left My Heart in San Francisco—Tony Bennett (1962) (single)
  14. If I Didn’t Care—The Ink Spots (1939) (single)
  15. King Biscuit Time (only extant episode with Sonny Boy Williamson) (1965)
  16. Lamento Borincano–Canario y Su Grupo (1929)
  17. Le Freak—Chic (1978) (single)
  18. My Girl—The Temptations (1965) (single)
  19. Proceedings of the UN Conference on International Organization (4/25/45-6/26/45/45)
  20. Rhythm is Gonna Get You–Gloria Estefan (1987) (single)
  21. Rock Around the Clock–Bill Haley and His Comets (1954) (single)
  22. Rumours—Fleetwood Mac (1977)
  23. Sitting on Top of the World—Mississippi Sheiks (1930)
  24. Sound of Music, The (1965) (soundtrack)
  25. Yo Yo Ma Premieres—Yo Yo Ma and the Philadelphia Orchestra (1996)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

PRE-ORDER: 1975-1987 Boxed Set

Fleetwood Mac, White Album, Rumours, Tusk, Mirage, Tango in the Night, colored vinyl, box set

50 Years – Don’t Stop

Fleetwood Mac, 50 Years Don't Stop, cover


Posts Archive